Van Morrison Announces New Album ‘Moving On Skiffle,’ Shares Lead Single ‘Streamline Train’

Van Morrison Announces New Album ‘Moving On Skiffle,’ Shares Lead Single ‘Streamline Train’

Van Morrison has announced that his new album, Moving On Skiffle, will be released on March 10, 2023.

Morrison offered a preview of the album by recently sharing its lead single, “Streamline Train.”

“I was still in school when I performed with a skiffle band – a couple of guitars, washboard, tea-chest bass,” Morrison said. “I was already familiar with Lead Belly’s recordings so when I heard Lonnie Donegan’s version of ‘Rock Island Line’ I intuitively understood what he was creating. I knew that it was what I wanted to do. It was like an explosion. This record retranslates songs from that era”.

“Chas McDevitt’s book is where to start when it comes to the history of skiffle,” he added. “From the very beginning with Lead Belly and the jug bands laying the foundations through to Lonnie Donegan’s influence, and Chas McDevitt’s skiffle group, it’s all in there.”

Key contributors on the 23-track album include Dave Keary (guitars), Pete Hurley (bass), Colin Griffin (drums) and Sticky Wicket (washboard). Current Brit folk favorite Seth Lakeman also contributes fiddle to five songs.

Morrison also announced details of some special intimate album launch shows at The Stables in Milton Keynes on March 13, 14 and 15 and at Whitla Hall in Belfast on April 6 and 7.

Fans who pre-order the album at by 5 pm on October 31 will receive access to a ticket pre-sale, which opens at 10 am on November 1. The pre-sale remains live until tickets go on general sale at 10 am on November 4.

Moving On Skiffle tracklist:

1. Freight Train2. Careless Love3. Sail Away Ladies4. Streamline Train5. Take This Hammer6. No Other Baby7. Gypsy Davy8. This Loving Light of Mine9. In The Evening When the Sun Goes Down10. Yonder Comes A Sucker11. Travellin’ Blues12. Gov Don’t Allow13. Come On In14. Streamlined Cannonball 15. Greenback Dollar16. Oh Lonesome Me17. I Wish Was An Apple On A Tree18. I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry19. I’m Movin’ On20. Cold Cold Heart21. Worried Man Blues22. Cotton Fields23. Green Rocky Road

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2022 All Rights Reserved